Law enforcement can arrest you for driving under the influence in Illinois with blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. In addition, state law requires you to consent to a breath or blood test or face additional charges.
Review the possible penalties for DUI in Illinois before facing the judge on these charges.
If you have no prior DUI convictions, you could receive the following penalties if found guilty:
- Mandatory clinical evaluation for substance use disorder
- License suspension for 12 months
- Up to $2,500 in fines
- Up to 364 days in jail
For a DUI arrest with a passenger who is younger than 16, the state has a mandatory minimum of $1,000 fine and six months in jail. For BAC of 0.16% or higher, you will receive a mandatory minimum $1,000 fine and 100 hours of community service.
Felony DUI charges apply to certain circumstances in Illinois. You could receive a Class 2 felony for DUI involving:
- Two or more prior DUI convictions on your record
- The second offense with a passenger younger than 16
- Serious injury to a child younger than 16
- The death of another driver or passenger, which has a mandatory minimum of two years in prison
This crime carries a fine of up to $25,000 as well as three to seven years in prison. You may also receive an extended license suspension.
Class 3 or 4 felony charges include DUI while driving under a suspended license, without insurance, or resulting in permanent injury or serious disability to another person.