Before facing a court date for theft in Illinois, you should understand the types of charges and possible penalties. The state uses both the terms larceny and theft to describe taking someone else’s property without permission, by deception or by threat.
Review the types of Illinois theft crimes and the associated legal consequences.
Misdemeanor and Class 4 felony theft
Taking up to $500 in cash or property is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois. You could receive a fine of up to $2,500 and up to 12 months in prison. If the crime occurred on government property, in a place of worship or at a school, or if you have a prior conviction, the court can impose Class 4 felony charges. These carry up to $25,000 in fines and 12 to 36 months in prison.
Class 3 and higher felony theft
If you take someone’s property directly from his or her person, you could receive Class 3 felony charges. This conviction carries up to $25,000 in fines and two to five years in prison.
Illinois categorizes theft valued at $10,000 to $100,000 as a Class 2 felony. Penalties for conviction may include three to seven years in prison in addition to fines.
Class 1 felony covers theft crimes of $100,000 to $500,000 of stolen goods. If you receive this type of conviction, the court can order fines along with four to 15 years in prison. Theft of $500,000 to $1 million in value carries the same penalties but with no possibility for probation.
Higher-value theft charges in Illinois can result in up to 30 years in prison.