Even if you feel confident handling a gun in Illinois, failing to comply with state and federal guidelines can land you in hot water. Facing weapons charges can impact your life and your freedom.
Paying careful attention to the requirements for obtaining, carrying and using a firearm can help you avoid costly mistakes.
Some states do not have a concealed carry requirement. If you lived in Wyoming or Arizona, for example, you would be exempt from needing a concealed carry permit. However, Illinois has strict laws including one that does require you to have a valid concealed carry permit to legally possess a gun. Allowing this permit to expire or failing to maintain it the right way could result in a weapons offense.
You can work with local officials to understand the conditions for you to have a firearm. According to the Illinois State Police, you must meet specific requirements including the following:
- Be 21 years of age
- Have not participated in any drug or alcohol rehabilitation in the last 5 years
- Possess a legitimate Firearm Owner’s Identification
- Are in good standing with the law
Sometimes a weapons charge might not make sense to you, particularly if your actions did not threaten or injure anyone. A strong legal defense might improve your chances of a satisfactory outcome once you present your case to a court of law. Even after you satisfy the legal requirements for the charges against you, obtaining a firearm may not happen immediately. However, under some circumstances, you could have the chance to legally obtain a gun again.