As a parent of a teen driver, you expect your child to follow traffic laws and practice safe driving. However, according to the Illinois State Police, 17 percent of alcohol-related collisions with fatalities involve at least one driver under the age of 21.
Because the pressure to drink is intense for many young people, it is important to stress to your teen the consequences of underage drinking and driving in Illinois.
DUI suspects may face arrest, handcuffs and a trip to jail. Conviction may result in the following penalties:
- Fine up to 2,500 dollars
- Possible incarceration for up to one year
- Suspension of driving privileges for at least two years
Additionally, for a defendant whose BAC is .160 or higher, there is a minimum fine of 500 dollars and 100 hours of community service.
An aggravated DUI is a charge law enforcement may issue to an offender after a crash resulting in severe harm or disfigurement. It is a class 4 felony with consequences including:
- Maximum fine of 25,000 dollars
- Revocation of driver’s license for a minimum of two years
- Possible jail time up to twelve years
Illinois has been a zero-tolerance state since 1995. This means that a person under 21 years of age who drives after consuming any amount of alcohol may lose his or her driving privileges. Exceptions to this stringent law include minors who ingest a prescription medication that contains alcohol or those who participate in a religious ritual such as communion.
It is essential to inform your child of the risks and responsibilities of sharing Illinois roadways. It is also important to know and understand the rights of minor drivers under the law.